Petron Blaze Boosters to San Miguel Beermen name in PBA 2014

Petron Blaze Boosters to return as San Miguel Beermen in Commissioner's Cup 2014 Season.

Petron Blaze Boosters to San Miguel Beermen name in PBA 2014

San Miguel Corporation (SMC) president Ramon S. Ang said the time is ripe to bring the company’s core brand back to the PBA.

“San Miguel Beer is synonymous to brewing excellence. We built our success as a conglomerate on San Miguel’s name. We are happy to announce its return to the PBA and we look forward to its future success,” Ang says.

Overall, the San Miguel franchise has won 19 championships to date, including the historic 1989 grand slam victory.

“On the 25th anniversary of that historic feat, we will gun for more championships with a new generation of talented and hardworking players and coaching staff,” Ang says. “As in the past, our aim is to stay true to the San Miguel brand of excellence and to play hard and well above our fans’ expectations.”

1989 Grand Slam

In 1989, San Miguel began one of the greatest seasons in league history. The Beermen defeated Shell led by Benjie Paras and Ronnie Magsanoc in the Open Conference, 4-1. In the All-Filipino Conference, San Miguel defeated a young but hungry Purefoods team in six games. At season's end, San Miguel completed the PBA's third grand slam by trouncing Robert Jaworski's Anejo Rhum 65 in five games with the enlistment of quality import and former Chicago Bull Ennis Whatley.

At the time, San Miguel joined Crispa (1976, 1983) as the only teams to win the coveted grand slam.
"El Presidente" was a prime candidate to win his fifth MVP, but Fernandez was denied by Paras, who became the first and still the only player to win the Rookie of the Year and Most Valuable Player awards in the same season. He was however, hailed the MVP by the Philippine Sports Press Corps.

Older Post